New York Times: Philadelphia Native Kevin Hart to Become Latest Recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor

Kevin Hart
Image via Kennedy Center.
Kevin Hart will be honored as the newest recipient of the Mark Twain Prize in March 2024.

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts is honoring Kevin Hart with the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor during its 25th annual ceremony in March, writes Stephanie Goodman for The New York Times.

The prize is considered the highest honor in the comedic industry.

“To be honored in this commemorative year feels surreal. Comedy is my outlet for social commentary and observations on life — I am grateful to the Kennedy Center for recognizing my voice and impact on culture. I can’t wait to celebrate!” said Hart in a statement.

Hart got his start in the industry at a comedy club amateur night in his native, Philadelphia.

Since then, he has built up his resume as among the top names in the comedy world.

“For over three decades, Kevin Hart has been a source of laughter across America and throughout the world with his iconic characters, inimitable physical comedy, and relatable narratives,” the Kennedy Center wrote in a statement. 

The Mark Twain Prize has been awarded since 1998, with Richard Pryor named the inaugural recipient. 

Next year, Hart will join other big names, including Whoopi Goldberg, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal, Tina Fey, Eddie Murphy, and Adam Sandler, among others to receive the award.

Read more about Kevin Hart’s huge new honor at The New York Times.


Connect With Your Community

Subscribe for stories that matter!

"*" indicates required fields

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.